Mohamed Houri’s Oracle Notes

November 7, 2013

Cost-Based Oracle Fundamentals: a magic book

Filed under: Book review — hourim @ 3:40 pm

Cost Based OptimizerIt was back in late 2005 or early 2006 when I was prompted by an Oracle magazine issue to buy the then best Oracle seller book of the year: Oracle Cost Based Fundamentals. When Amazon shipped me this book, I was really disappointed when I started browsing its content. The first question that came to my mind was: is this book speaking about an Oracle technology? You can imagine how much this question revealed my degree of Oracle ignorance by that time. To my defense I was working for a customer as a PL/SQL developer under Oracle 8i. My tasks were to faithfully transform business requirements into a technical requirements and then into a set of stored procedures. Oracle 8i was under Rule Based model while the book I bought explains fundamentals of Oracle Cost Based Optimizer.  I was in such a situation that inevitably the content of this new book was not matching my interests. So I put it on hold.

Several years after, I started a new job where trouble shooting performance issues was a crucial part. The application was upgraded from 8i (Rule Based) to 10gR2 (Cost Based) and was suffering terrible performance problems. It was time for me to wake up both the book and my head from their hibernation. Degustation of the book content begins.

More than 4 years after I have started trouble shooting performance problems and particularly bad query execution time, I am still using and savoring the content of this unrivalled and unequalled book.

There are 14 chapters in this book; I am not going to tell you what chapter is must to read or what has most retained my attention. This is not a book to only read and re-read. This is a book to learn by heart. This is a book you should always have with you when trouble shooting queries bad execution time. This is a Swiss knife allowing a CBO dissection.

Simply put, this book is so that if, when speaking with an experienced Oracle tuning DBA-Developer, I came to realize that he still has not read this book then I immediately measure the gap he has to fill before he will start doing correctly his job (unless he has read the Performance Guide itself :-)).

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Mohamed,

    This book gave me the same impression but I would add two other “magic” books: Troubleshooting Oracle Performance (by Christian Antognini) and Expert Oracle Database Architecture (by Tom Kyte)

    Comment by ahmed aangour — November 7, 2013 @ 9:18 pm | Reply

  2. Ahmed,

    Let me list for you Oracle books I am constantly using in random order

    1. Practical Oracle 8i (Jonathan Lewis)
    2. Troubleshooting Oracle Performance (Christian Antognini)
    3. Expert Oracle Database Architecture (Tom Kyte)
    4. Cost-Based Oracle Fundamentals (Jonathan Lewis)

    If I have been given a chance to work on an exadata machine I would have been also extensively using

    5. Expert Oracle Exadata (Tanel Poder et al.)

    And finally, for my particular path to become an Oracle expert () I am always referring to :

    6. Oracle Core Essential Internals for DBAs and Developers (Jonathan Lewis)

    There are other valuable books of course I am reading but I found myself very often using the ones I listed above and this is why I put them in my TOP 6.

    Best regards

    Comment by hourim — November 8, 2013 @ 7:46 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Tony's Oracle Tips

Tony Hasler's light hearted approach to learning about Oracle

Richard Foote's Oracle Blog

Focusing Specifically On Oracle Indexes, Database Administration and Some Great Music

Hatem Mahmoud Oracle's blog

Just another Oracle blog : Database topics and techniques

Mohamed Houri’s Oracle Notes

Qui se conçoit bien s’énonce clairement

Oracle Diagnostician

Performance troubleshooting as exact science

Raheel's Blog

Things I have learnt as Oracle DBA

Coskan's Approach to Oracle

What I learned about Oracle

So Many Oracle Manuals, So Little Time

“Books to the ceiling, Books to the sky, My pile of books is a mile high. How I love them! How I need them! I'll have a long beard by the time I read them”—Lobel, Arnold. Whiskers and Rhymes. William Morrow & Co, 1988.

EU Careers info

Your career in the European Union

Carlos Sierra's Tools and Tips

Tools and Tips for Oracle Performance and SQL Tuning

Oracle Scratchpad

Just another Oracle weblog

OraStory

Dominic Brooks on Oracle Performance, Tuning, Data Quality & Sensible Design ... (Now with added Sets Appeal)

